Mark your 2023 calendars for these Meet & Greet Author Events!
· April 26 : Lydia Moland, Colby professor and author of new book: Lydia Maria Child: A Radical American Life .
· June 28th : Amy Calder, award winning reporter and columnist for the Morning Sentinel will talk about her new book: Comfort is an Old Barn: Stories from the Heart of Maine.
The Norridgewock Historical Society holds open meetings at 6:30 pm on the 4th Wednesday of the month, April to November.
The Museum is located at 11 Mercer Rd, (No mail delivery) Norridgewock, Maine
Mailing and shipping address: PO Box 903, Norridgewock, Maine 04957.
Contact us at: firstname.lastname@example.org:
April 26, 2023 6:30PM
Lydia Moland, author: Lydia Maria Child, A Radical American Life
May 24, 2023 6:30 PM
June 28, 2023 6:30PM
Amy Calder, journalist: Comfort is an Old Barn , Stories from the Heart of Maine
July 26, 2023 6:30PM
Program : TBD
August 23, 2023 6:30PM
Program : TBD
September 27, 2023 6:30PM
Program : TBD
October 25, 2023 6:30PM
November : No Meeting
December 7, 2023 6:30PM
Select File to Download
In 1995, work on the Museum started in earnest, with our Clean Up Days on May 24th, 31st, and June 7th. On May 29th, we erected our flag and flagpole. We opened our doors to the public on June 10th, 1995, with one of our first attractions – the display of the Charles H. Sawyer prints.
In 1994, the building was devised to Harold Obert. It was then sold, at less than its value, to the Norridgewock Historical Society on November 28, 1994.
Doctor Brown’s daughter, Linnion Brown Rogerson, passed away at age 101.
Doctor Walter Brown and his family lived in the building, using it as a private residence. In 1883, the building was home to two doctors, Doctor Philip Lindsay and Doctor Justin Ames.
In 1864, the building was taken over by Hamlin F. Eaton and used as the Eaton School for a year. Once the Eaton School was moved, the building was still used for some classes, as well as a faculty home.
Our building was built, and intended to be a Female Academy. Doctor Amos Townsend donated the land and $100 towards its erection, though once construction was done the final cost was nearer to $1,000. After its use as a Female Academy, the building sat vacant for about four years.
The Norridgewock Museum & Historical Society serves as an insight to the history of Norridgewock, Maine, and its encompassing Somerset County. From monthly meetings to exhibits and special events, our volunteers work to preserve our past for future generations.
From Native American artifacts to early 20th century medicine, from maps and books to postcards and newspapers, our collection aims to showcase the history and culture of the town and its surrounding areas throughout history.
The Norridgewock Historical Society offers insights into our rich history. Visit the museum to look up your family's ancestral history or research the storied history of our town and Somerset County.
11 Mercer Road, Norridgewock, Maine
Mailing Address: PO Box 903, Norridgewock, ME 04957
Copyright © 2023 Norridgewock Historical Society - All Rights Reserved.